# Nebraska Power Association 2022 Annual Conference

### The Rapidly Evolving Power Grid

Aug. 30-31, 2022 Younes Conference Center South Kearney, Nebraska



# AGENDA

Thank you for joining us at the NPA 2022 Annual Conference!

### Tuesday, Aug. 30

10:00 a.m.	Conference Registration Desk Opens
11:00 a.m.	Welcome Remarks & Introduction Stan Clouse, Mayor, City of Kearney NPA President Neal Suess, President & Chief Executive Officer, Loup Power District
11:15 a.m.	Southwest Power Pool: Overview & Operations Update Lanny Nickell, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, Southwest Power Pool
12:00 p.m.	Lunch Navigating Supply Chain Disruption Matt Gilliland, Director, Operations Support & Business Continuity, Nebraska Public Power District
1:15 p.m.	<b>Broadband Challenges &amp; Opportunities</b> Brad Moline, President & Chief Executive Officer, ALLO Communications Andy Pollock, Attorney, Rembolt Ludtke Aaron Bennett, Vice President, Broadband Development, NRTC
	<i>Moderator</i> : Pat Pope, Former President & Chief Executive Officer, Nebraska Public Power District
2:15 p.m.	Break

#### 2:30 p.m.

#### **KEYNOTE: The Rapidly Evolving Power Grid Peter Kelly-Detwiler**



Peter Kelly-Detwiler has spent more than 30 years of experience in the electric power sector. He is co-founder of NorthBridge Energy Partners LLC, a consulting firm helping companies develop strategies for rapidly evolving power markets.

Peter is an energy industry thought leader and consults and speaks all over the world. He's advised startups as well as large companies like GE, Nike and SunPower to adapt to a rapidly evolving landscape.

He is known as a contributing writer for Forbes.com and other energy publications. His recently published book, "The Energy Switch," tells the story about the transformation of electric power markets.

#### 5:30 p.m. Social Hour

#### 6:30 p.m. **Dinner** Entertainment by Fleet Street – Ranked 15th in the world at the Barbershop Harmony Society's 2022 International Convention & Quartet Contest





## Wednesday, Aug. 31

7:30 a.m.	Conference Registration Desk Opens
8:00 a.m.	Building an Energy Workforce During Utility Transformation Nina Swanson, Director, Organizational Development, Omaha Public Power District
9:00 a.m.	<ul> <li>Federal Legislative Update</li> <li>Hill Thomas, Vice President, Legislative Affairs, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association</li> <li>Desmarie Waterhouse, Vice President, Government Relations &amp; Counsel, American Public Power Association</li> <li>Moderator: Seth Voyles, Manager, Government Relations,</li> </ul>
	Omaha Public Power District
9:45 a.m.	Partnerships on the Prairie: Securing Nebraska's Critical Infrastructure Dustin Thorne, Manager, Cyber Security, Lincoln Electric System
10:30 a.m.	<ul> <li>Ensuring Reliability &amp; Resource Adequacy for Nebraska</li> <li>Chuck Hutchison, Vice Chairman, Nebraska Power Review Board</li> <li>Javier Fernandez, President &amp; Chief Executive Officer,</li> <li>Omaha Public Power District</li> <li>Tom Kent, President &amp; Chief Executive Officer, Nebraska Public</li> <li>Power District</li> <li>Rick Nelson, General Manager, Nebraska Rural Electric</li> <li>Association</li> <li>Robert Poehling, Executive Director &amp; Chief Executive Officer,</li> <li>NMPP Energy</li> <li>Kevin Wailes, Chief Executive Officer, Lincoln Electric System</li> <li>Moderator: Mike Degan, Of Counsel, Kutak Rock</li> </ul>

### NPA OFFICERS



President Neal Suess President & Chief Executive Officer Loup Power District



**Treasurer** Clay Gibbs Manager Cornhusker Public Power District



First Vice President Bob Poehling Executive Director & Chief Executive Officer NMPP Energy



**Secretary** Tom Kent President & Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District

#### NPA BOARD MEMBERS

Devin Brundage, General Manager, Central Nebraska Public Power & Irrigation District Javier Fernandez, Chief Executive Officer, Omaha Public Power District Kevin Johnson, Utilities Manager, City of Hastings Tim Luchsinger, Utilities Director, Grand Island Utilities John McClure, General Counsel, Nebraska Public Power District Neal Niedfeldt, President & Chief Executive Officer, Southern Public Power District Lisa Olson, Vice President, Public Affairs, Omaha Public Power District Rick Nelson, General Manager, Nebraska Rural Electric Association Kevin Wailes, Chief Executive Officer, Lincoln Electric System Dan Walter, Vice President, Energy Market, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association, Inc.

### NPA ADMINISTRATOR

Shelley Sahling-Zart, Vice President & General Counsel, Lincoln Electric System



Second Vice President Darin Bloomquist General Manager Neb. Electric Generation & Transmission Coop., Inc.

# Thank you, sponsors!



SILVER













BRONZE

KidGlov Advertising · Marketing · Branding











Please provide your thoughts on this event. Scan this QR code to take the survey.



#### Thank you NPA 2022 Annual Conference Commmittee:

Carol Brehm, NMPP Energy James Dukesherer, Nebraska Rural Electric Association Kelly Fleming, Omaha Public Power District Shirley Higgins, Nebraska Public Power District Laura King-Homan, Omaha Public Power District John McNally, Nebraska Public Power District Travis Moore, Lincoln Electric System Kelley Porter, Lincoln Electric System Shelley Sahling-Zart, Lincoln Electric System Alicia Schuller, Lincoln Electric System Seth Voyles, Omaha Public Power District

# Nebraska is 100% public power







NPA is a voluntary organization representing all segments of Nebraska's power industry: municipalities, public power districts, public power and irrigation districts and cooperatives engaged in generation, transmission or distribution of electricity within our state.







(402) 473-3212